A Rose by Any Other Name?

Alas. Alack.

I have failed miserably in selecting a pen name. That is, I’m using my real name as my author name.

I just read an article that says your first name should have two syllables and your last name, one. Like Stephen King. And here I am with a one-syllable first name and a verboten three-syllable last-name. What to do?

Shall I henceforth become Anna Whit? I think not.

I do think saint names are cool. I once contemplated Anna Saint Whitaker.

My writer friend Cara Marsi’s maiden name was Palmarella, but she chose not to use it because she said it was too easy to misspell and mispronounce. I think she made a big mistake to ditch such a beautiful Italian name. It has character and flow, unlike the Germanic sound of “Whitaker.”

Anna Saint Whitakerella just doesn’t have the quite the same ring to it.

Anna La Whitakerella? Nay, again.

How about my maiden name “Howard”? Also Germanic.

Below are a couple of name generator sites I’ve been playing around with.

http://online-generator.com/index.php

http://generator.chucklehound.com/

Following the two-syllable/one-syllable rule I came up with “Kimi Kind” and “Zoucka Stale,” which have a nice ring to them. Or maybe my favorite author and the street I grew up on—“Bronte Sammons.”

 On second thought, I’ll stick with my real name for now.

1 Comment

Filed under authors, Cara Marsi, ideas, pen names, rules

One response to “A Rose by Any Other Name?

  1. Bronte Sammons has quite an interesting ring. This 2-syllable, 1-syllable thing is nothing I’ve ever heard before. Apparently neither did Nora Roberts, J.K Rowling, or for that matter, Charles Dickens. He got it totally backwards, the idiot. He’ll never be famous now.

Leave a Reply

